top of page


The Reformation is a progressive rock band consisting of multi-instrumentalists Matt Penco, Caroline Schneider, Kyle Brower, Dan Miller, and Fred Carneiro. Formed in Pittsburgh in 2010, these devoted musicians show their audience why they believe that music is the most powerful form of art.

​Although they are fundamentally a bluesy heavy-prog group that incorporates soulful four-part vocal harmonies, their style is an electric and acoustic melting pot. They write catchy jazz-funk dance tunes and simultaneously utilize the more unconventional elements of psychedelia, atonality, and instrumental improvisations in other works. While remaining progressive, they strive for a commercially viable sound. Because of this, they expose the listener to multifaceted songs with tight, developed musicianship.

​They released their self-titled debut album in 2011, their second album Fatal Expectation in 2013, and their first EP Power Trip in 2020. The facetious lead single from Power Trip, “Ghost House Funk”, was promoted on 88.1 WCRX-FM Columbia College in Chicago for Halloween 2019, and DJ Duane Williams put their music in rotation on his 90.7 WWOZ-FM New Orleans show What’s New. In 2020, “Ghost House Funk” was added to Mascot Label Group’s Spotify playlist The Funk Garage: A Collection of Our All Time Favorite Funky Tunes. The Reformation has received additional radio airplay on 92.1 WPTS-FM Pittsburgh.



"From Rush-style prog to operatic rock to psyche-y soul a la 'Ball of Confusion'-era Temps, The Reformation's second release is all over the map, but the band seems comfortable there. [...] Some really good musical moments here, though:  'A Grave Path' may be the highlight of the album, and the spacey noir jazz of 'Fell and Forgotten' is beautiful [...] this band could be onto something." Andy Mulkerin, Pittsburgh City Paper


"I like [the Fatal Expectation] album quite a bit. These guys are pretty amazing musicians and the range of sounds is pretty impressive. [...] However you slice this beast, it’s creative, inventive, and pretty darned cool." G.W. Hill, Music Street Journal


Click here to download the EPK / One-Sheet.

For additional information, please e-mail

bottom of page